Victory Day Parade Moscow 2010

So I just got home from a 5 day stint in Moscow during one of the biggest holidays of the year: Victory Day, which commemorates the end of WWII and the defeat of the Nazis.  It is a particularly important day in Russia because the Soviet Union lost over 20 million people to WWII.  The above video (which only shows the first 1/3 or less of the display, but would have been ridiculously long if I tried to film the whole thing) is the dress rehearsal of a portion of the parade.  Before this I had never seen a military parade, so this was a pretty crazy experience for me… intimidating to say the least.  The first tanks are originals from WWII, followed by modern artillery that grows in size and intensity.  By the end of it, there were rocket launchers driving down the street.

Like I said, a rocket launcher…

Leave a comment

Filed under Places

Leave a comment